Share

Sunday, January 03, 2010

Reading Denise Duhamel

Few are the poets whose work makes me laugh out loud. Let's see, there's Billy Collins, Denise Duhamel ... anyone think of another? But Duhamel's work often gives me one of those kinds of laughs that deepens with irony, from the trenchant social commentary, its keen observations on popular culture, and the sheer humor inherent in being female in the 21st century.

Today you can have a treat listening to poet and editor Bryan Roth online, reading the poetry of and talking about Denise Duhamel. The show is on today at 6 p.m. Mountain Time (8 p.m. Eastern, 5 p.m. Pacific Time), on Dona Stein's "Poetry Show" on public radio station KRFC (Fort Collins, Colorado), 88.9 on your FM dial. You can listen to the show online, live, here: http://krfcfm.org/listen.php

Who's your favorite poet-humorist-social commentator?